Project 3: Photodesign

P3-BenFagersten

Description:

Create a poster using Adobe Photoshop to edit an original photo and incorporate design elements while sticking to a colour scheme.

Process:

It seems like I need to take 100 photos to find 1 good picture in the bunch. I took lots of photos to get one that could fit with the message I wanted to convey. I used Adobe Photoshop to edit the image using the levels, vibrance and saturation, selective colour, and sharpening tools. I tried to create more depth in the image, especially in the plants. I reduced the whiteness of the water and kept it more blue throughout. I brought out the rich gold sunlight that was throughout because I took the picture as the sun was going down. I chose the design elements of the white stripe because of the ducks neck. It not only caused repetition in the design but it ended up giving the impression that you are looking out of a window at the scene.

Message:

More fulfilling and lasting value is found in confidence in ones self than in beauty.

Audience:

The boys, girls, men, and women who think they are ugly and that good looks is where value is found.

Top Thing Learned: Taking the time to determine who your audience is does much more than I realized to help you compose photographs, design elements, and even selecting a colour scheme.

Colour scheme and colour names: Monochromatic Green 

Title Font Name & Category: Walkway SemiBold Regular

Copy Font Name & Category: Walkway Oblique Regular

Date and location you took the photo(s)

May 18, 2016 behind my apartment on the train bridge over an irrigation canal.

IMG_1676

3 thoughts on “Project 3: Photodesign

  1. Hey Ben,

    Your project is so cool. I love the use of lines that you have. It really draws the eye. I think that a monochromatic color scheme was a great choice. I love the different greens you picked out of the photo. Also, your font choice is on point. Seriously, I’m going to go steal those, so thanks. Great job!

    Check out Heidi’s Blog she used a monochromatic color scheme as well:
    https://hehow.wordpress.com/2016/05/21/project-3-photodesign/

    Like

    1. Hi Tori. I appreciate your comment! To make your life easier I used the “walkway” font and I found it on dafont.com. There are 31 font files in that one so it gives you everything you could want. Enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love what you did with this project! I absolutely love you picture with the duck in it. You did a good job putting that duck in the right place and using the rule of thirds. The colors you chose were bright and really popped. It’s a very inviting design. Nicely done! Another design with nature in it is this link right here! Check it out! https://benjaminenggas.wordpress.com/2016/05/21/project-3-photodesign/comment-page-1/#comment-4

    Like

Leave a Reply

