Project 4 Montage

P4Montage

Description: A spiritual montage blending together two or more images and using a filter on at least part of the image.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles):

I began the design process by looking at pictures and coming up with text that could go along with the images. Scouring the web I found 4 images that I thought would go together nicely and create one image that didn’t feel like they were forced together for a project. I used Adobe Photoshop to layer the photos together then masked each layer so I could remove the hard edges of the images and create the unnoticeable blend of one image to another. Once the images came together I had the inspiration for the text I should use. I put the quote on the image and finally found a font that would work. I chose to contrast the text through bold and increase in font size to maintain easy readability in the text because of the complexity of the image. The words I chose to emphasize are meant to draw the viewer to the understanding that God is about a you and I relationship.

Message: Despite the magnitude of God’s creations, you are important to Him. It is easy to think that you are insignificant in such an enormous expanse, but He is here forming and shaping an imperfect people in an imperfect world.

Audience: Those who are in awe of the stars and outer space.

Top Thing Learned: Sometimes the images will inspire the text choice rather than the text inspiring the image choice.

Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied:

I used a brush stroke filter on the earth to create the same paint-like feeling that the rest of the outer-space picture has.

Color scheme and color names: Complimentary – Blue and Orange

Title Font Name & Category: Old Style – Iowan Old Style Bold Italics

Copy Font Name & Category: Old Style – Iowan Old Style Italics

Thumbnails of Images used:

abrahamic_covenant

unorganized_matter

Image converted using ifftoany

OPEN-HANDS-jB-iii2012-photo

Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site):

3 thoughts on “Project 4 Montage

  1. Ben, I absolutely love the images you chose to blend in this design. You blended them so nicely. The color scheme is so appealing. I also enjoy reading through the quote you chose to use; I feel like the quote is very appropriate for this design. This design makes me feel so at peace. Overall, you did such a great job of delivering this message to the audience. Awesome work!
    Take a look at my friend’s blog if you can 🙂 https://jennifernoelblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/27/p4-montage/

    Like

Leave a Reply

