P8: Brochure Project

Front

P8-BenFagersten-Front

Inside

P8-BenFagersten-inside

Back

P8-BenFagersten-back

Video

Description:

Trifold duplex brochure.

Process:

I began by deciding on making my brochure for my wife to provide her with something to give to people who want to know about her teaching violin lessons and her availability to play gigs. I started sketching with pen and paper what I wanted the brochure to look like. I quickly decided on a traditional trifold brochure because it is easily recognized as a brochure. Knowing what my wife wanted on the brochure helped me to plan it out.

I used Adobe InDesign to create the layout of the brochure. Using Illustrator I created a simple logo to resemble the scroll on the end of a violin by combining three circles. Photoshop was useful when I cut the background out of two pictures. I learned how to use the quick selection tool to select what I wanted to use and save the selection so that there were alpha graphics. This made is possible to wrap the text around the image.

My wife loves the color teal and I wanted to use a different colour scheme than I had used before so I went with the split complementary. It goes quite well with the wood of the violin.

Folding and cutting was not as difficult as I thought it would be but getting it to print so the lines were straight on both sides was a challenge. The printer rarely made it easy on me, when it would flip the page the lines across the top and bottom would be crooked on one side and straight on the other making the cutting difficult because I’d lose more on the front than I wanted to.

Message:

Rebecca Fagersten is a qualified and capable violin teacher. Also, to outline prices and policies.

Audience:

People who want to take violin lessons and parents who want to get their children into violin lessons.

Top Thing Learned:

Cutting images in Photoshop and placing them in InDesign with the capability of wrapping text around the image.

Color scheme and color names: Split Complimentary – Teal, Orange, and Red

Title Font Name & Category: Playfair Display

Copy Font Name & Category: Devanagari Sangam MN

Word Count of copy: 410

Thumbnails of Images used:

M2655_-_violin_-_Giovanni_Paolo_Maggini_-_före_1700_-_foto_Sofi_Sykfont Reb rhsch3 latenightwalk (17 of 20)

Sources:

1.http://www.scfta.org/scfta/media/General/visit/campus/rhsch3.jpg

2.https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/28/M2655_-_violin_-_Giovanni_Paolo_Maggini_-_f%C3%B6re_1700_-_foto_Sofi_Sykfont.jpg

5 thoughts on “P8: Brochure Project

  1. Ben, great job on your brochure. I LOVE the color scheme. So modern and fun. I also love the large picture of the violin on the front of the brochure. It was super eye catching! I read through your whole brochure, so I guess you did what you needed to visually. I love how simple and clean your brochure is. It allows plenty of white space for comfort without feeling empty. Excellent job! Check out Ben’s brochure: https://benjaminenggas.wordpress.com/2016/07/09/project-8-brochure/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ben, I think your brochure was very nicely done! I love how you made it to represent your wife. I think that is so kind of you to do. I like the image you cut out and wrapped text around; that portion looked very natural. Overall, this was a classy, professional, yet personable brochure. Awesome job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

