Photo Competition

I entered my first photo competition! It was the Idaho Falls Magazine Photo Contest (http://www.idahofallsmagazine.com/2016/10/east-id-community-photo-contest) under the categories of Portraits, Nature & Wildlife, and Other. I liked this contest because there were so many categories and I was glad that I could submit multiple entries per category. This allowed me to get many photos out there and the more photos you enter the better chance to win. I submitted these photos on November 10th by email. Almost all of these photos have not yet been in my blog, so here are some new photos.

Other:

benfagersten-rexburg-tracks

benfagersten-byui-campus-snow

benfagersten-silhouette-sky

The picture of the train tracks is one that I have always wanted to capture. I’ve seen lots of pictures like it but never had one of my own. I really like the tracks that lead to the left because it makes me think of paths in life. Sometimes we get stuck going straight and new options that open up to us either remind us that we want to keep going or give us an opportunity to do something new. This picture was taken 10/05/2016 at 6:02 pm.

I go to school at BYU-Idaho and I think the campus is one of the most beautiful things in Rexburg. I love this picture because of the rich colours of the changing leaves. I also think that rain has a way of bringing out colors in nature. This first image was taken 10/03/2016 at 9:03am.

The last picture was taken the same day, very near the same place as the train track photo. There were some low clouds that day that covered the sun up and made the horizon look like it was on fire. One of my favourite landscape styles is of city-scapes or building-scapes that are silhouetted against a great sky. This was taken on 10/05/2016 at 5:57pm.

Nature & Wildlife:

benfagersten-rexburg-sunset

benfagersten-rexburg-looking-east

benfagersten-rexburg-clouds

The first photo was taken on 10/20/2016 at 6:13pm. I went to pick up my wife from campus at BYU-Idaho and when I got to the Taylor Chapel I turned around and was so glad that I had my camera with me!

The second picture came when I went out to practise taking landscape pictures. I was behind the new Walmart in Rexburg. It was taken on 10/05/2016 at 5:56pm.

The third picture is of one of my favourite subjects, clouds. The different types of clouds especially with the sun behind, causing the silver lining is what captured my interest. This was taken 10/2/2016 at 5:02pm.

Portraits:

benfagersten-gold-reflector
benfagersten-library-portrait

benfagersten-hot-chocolate

The first and third portraits were taken on the same photo shoot. I didn’t enter this first one in the photo competition because I couldn’t locate it in time to submit it. I’m still trying to discover the words to describe why I like some portraits more than others, but I love this portrait of Reb. This was taken 10/22/2016 at 6:00pm.
.
The second photo is my wife at  the David O. Mckay Library at the BYU-Idaho campus. This is titled “Books are Serious”, we love reading, unfortunately that’s not why we were at the library so late! We were taking pictures instead! This was taken 10/19/2016 at 10:43pm.
.
This portrait is titled “Favourite Things” because parks, hot chocolate, and (saving the best for last) my wife are among my favourite things. This was taken 10/22/2016 at 6:10pm.
Leave a Reply

